Venture CIC | Independent / Skilled Worker Class
page,page-id-16049,page-template-default,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,side_area_uncovered_from_content,qode-theme-ver-10.0,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12,vc_responsive

Independent / Skilled Worker Class

The Federal Skilled Worker class covers applicants who have demonstrated skills or experience in their respective profession or occupation in their home country, and have the ability to independently adapt to Canadian workforce.

The Government of Canada announced the new list of 29 eligible occupations on July 1, 2011.

If you are considering working and living in Canada, and you are eligible under the new immigration act, it is in your best interest to APPLY IMMEDIATELY. Within the next 12 months, the Government of Canada will only process 10,000 applications with a cap of 500 for each individual occupation.

For your application to be eligible for processing, you must:

  • Have an official language proficiency test (IELTS – GENERAL), AND
  • Have a valid offer of arranged employment, OR
  • Have one year of continuous full-time paid work experience in at least one of the occupations listed below:
    1. Restaurant and Food Service Managers
    2. Primary Production Managers ( except Agriculture )
    3. Professional Occupations in Business Services to Management
    4. Insurance Adjusters and Claims Examiners
    5. Biologists and Related Scientists
    6. Architects
    7. Special Physicians
    8. General Practitioners and Family Physicians
    9. Dentists
    10. Pharmacists
    11. Physiotherapists
    12. Registered Nurses
    13. Medical Radiation Technologists
    14. Dental Hygienists & Dental Therapists
    15. Licensed Practical Nurses
    16. Psychologists
    17. Social Workers
    18. Chefs
    19. Cooks
    20. Contractors and Supervisors – Carpentry Trades
    21. Contractors and Supervisors – Mechanic Trades
    22. Electricians (Except Industrial & Power System)
    23. Industrial Electricians
    24. Plumbers
    25. Welders & Related Machine Operators
    26. Heavy-Duty Equipment Mechanics
    27. Crane Operators
    28. Drillers & Blasters — Surface Mining, Quarrying & Construction
    29. Supervisors , Oil and Gas Drilling and Service

The current pass mark is 67, out of a possible maximum of 100 points but is re-set by the department from time to time.

Federal Skilled Workers are assessed on a Points system, with a maximum of 100 points assessed for 6 factors including: Education, Skilled Work Experience, Age, Language abilities in English and/or French, Arranged employment in Canada, and other adaptability factors.

In order to qualify to immigrate to Canada, an applicant must score at least 67 points; have sufficient funds to maintain himself/herself and accompanying family members for at least 6 months, and pass medical examinations as well as security and criminal background checks.

In our experience, the skilled worker program is one of the best suited for general immigrants, but can also be one of the most complicated.

Have Questions?

We work closely with you and carry out research to understand your needs and wishes.